Cubicle to Fit-ish

How a wimp becomes fit(ish)

Where I actually get better at things…

So, I didn’t want to go to boot camp last night.  I wanted to go to bed and read a silly magazine.  This is what happens every time I say or think that exercise will be my stress relief – I automatically become exhausted and don’t want to exercise anymore.

But, my guy told me to go (as he does every week) and I figured we’d be doing the punches and stuff, not the crazy circuits.  My guy and I call boot camp “kick kick, punch punch.”  And, it isn’t that the Muy Thai days are not a good workout, they are just not as exhausting as some of the circuits we do.  Thank god the teacher can’t see this because I would get my butt kicked doing eight billion punches and kicks to prove me wrong!

I was so wrong about last night, though.  We did the usual random circuits (20 push ups, 30 crunches, 40 squats X 3), but then we did a burpee contest.  Now, these are burpees without the push up, but they are not easy and we already do a ton of them in the warm up.  But, apparently, we had to do MORE.  The contest was:

 

Minute 1 = 1 burpee and then rest

Minute 2 = 2 burpees and then rest

Minute 3 = 3 burpees and then rest

And so on…

Your rest time keeps getting shorter and shorter and the burpees keep getting harder and harder.

I actually made it through 12 rounds (and 5 into the 13th) – I was shocked!  That is 1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 5 + 6 + 7 + 8 + 9 + 10 + 11 + 12 + 5….

 

83 burpees!

 

That is INSANE!  I couldn’t even jump both feet back at the same time when I started.  And that is not counting the ones we did in the warm up.

On days when I don’t see progress, I’m going to remember this:

6 months ago, I could barely work out 2 times in a week.

Actually, I could barely work out at all!  All I did was walk on the treadmill.

 

Now, I work out at least 3 times a week and I can do 83 burpees in 13 minutes – progress does happen!

(no matter how slow it feels, sometimes)

October 12, 2011 - Posted by | boot camp, kick kick punch punch, Who am I?, wimpy-ness | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. 83 burpees??!!!! OMG – I’m in awe. I hate burpees, but I am glad that I’ve improved SO much over the past year. There was a time where I just couldn’t do it … I have LONG way to go before hitting 83. Very impressive 🙂

    Comment by PlumPetals | October 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks! Never to be repeated, I fear, as I’ve been wicked sore all week. Ouch!

      Comment by Nerd Girl Thinks | October 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

