Cubicle to Fit-ish

How a wimp becomes fit(ish)

5 Things I’m Loving Right Now Friday #3

I am so hopped up on Dayquil that this could go wrong very quickly.

This week has not been what I wanted it to be.  I was so excited about getting back into a routine that I chose ANY routine – not my healthy, small and manageable goal routine.  So there was a lot of cereal eaten, not so many vegetables, and sleep was non-existent.

But, I made it to boot camp on Tuesday and Thursday.  Tuesday was a big win.  I spent the day at my day job’s All Company Service day – a great concept, but not as fun when you are picking up trash and weeding sea grass on Carson Beach in a down pour.  At boot camp, Tuesday was a crazy circuit – burpees with rope slams… box step ups with a high knee…  Everyone was shocked I actually went after a long, wet day, but I didn’t want to let myself down.

Last night, we did Thai, but it was all about blocking.  Strangely, I don’t enjoy blocking as much as I do punching, haha!

Here we go…

  1. Fall TV Shows: What better motivation is there to get my butt in gear than the fact that I have new shows to watch at night!?!  I heart my DVR (as we all know), so I have plenty of things to watch Saturday afternoon.  The rumor of a Doctor Who reference on Community has my nerdy heart aflutter…
  2.  My new pillow: A couple of weeks ago, I woke up and could barely turn my neck.  Boot camp was not fun that day – I couldn’t even do a crunch!  It turns out my pillow was so malformed that it was physically hurting me as I slept.  $10 later, I have a lovely hypo-allergenic pillow that I am trying not to misshape when I read in bed (I tend to twist and turn pillows to prop my glasses up on my face while on my side – SO LAZY).
  3. Summer The West Wing recaps on the TV Club: I love The Onion, but I love AV Club more.  Quirky, critical, and honest reviews of TV shows that I actually watch.  They have a lot of great interviews, as well.  The West Wing is in my top 5 favorite shows ever, so I really enjoy reading someone’s views on each season, especially since some time has past since they first aired.  A truly good show only becomes better with age, not dated and irrelevant.
  4. Dayquil: Because it got me through this work day.
  5. Random Thank Yous: Sometimes I forget how much a kind word can change a day around.  I was miserable in boot camp last night (on the edge of a cold, not enjoying being hit in the head, messing up my hair…), when my partner said “thanks for sparring with me.”  Something so little, but something so nice.
September 23, 2011 - Posted by | 5 Things I’m Loving Right Now Friday, boot camp, Doctor Who, General Nerdiness, my hair | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

