Cubicle to Fit-ish

How a wimp becomes fit(ish)

A fat-bottomed bob can change your life…

Mental Health Week Update:
Well, I found some new shoes.  Caught up on sleep.  I’ve cut my hair.  Found some shirts.  Drove around a lot.

But, do I feel any different?
Actually, I do.  Getting my hair cut always makes me feel like a better version of myself, even if my bangs are crooked or my layers freaking out (hey, that’s what curly hair does when not treated with respect). 

It’s the coerced way of looking at myself differently.

I don’t always see myself – I see my mistakes, my failures, my bad choices, everything wrong multiplied. 

A new haircut always looks so foreign that I see, for a moment, what I look like right then and there.  Simply, me.  And that is what is inspiring me for the rest of the week and as long as I can hold onto that moment.

So, I haven’t worked out.  And, I haven’t eaten super well. But…  Monday, my guy and I went to a diner for breakfast and then ran around taking pictures of Fort Revere; it was fun and creative (and all without the benefit of a shower and fresh makeup).  Then, we took Remy to a state park and explored.  And, it was awesome.

Yes, our cable and internet were our until today.  I don’t know if we would have gone if we had it back, but I’m so gratefully for being pushed out of my couch-tv-eat-sleep routine…  This is what I needed.  This is who I want to be.

Today, I got a fat-bottomed bob.  How can I not call this vacation a success when even the name of my haircut is freaking awesome?

And, it’s only Wednesday.  I still have 4 more days off…

September 7, 2011 - Posted by | back story, my hair, photography, Remy, Who am I? | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

