Cubicle to Fit-ish

How a wimp becomes fit(ish)

Big Hair and Fast Feet

I totally ran at 5 mph tonight!  It was awesome! 

Usually I do intervals  at a #1 incline (run for 3 minutes at 4.5 mph, walk for three minutes at 3.5; run/walk for 4 minutes each; then 5; then back to 4 and 3).  With my warmup/cooldown, it winds up being 50 minutes or so.

One of my 33 Things… is to run a 12 minute mile – which winds up being a little faster than treadmill 5 mph for me.  I’ve been slowly working my way back to actually running (rather than walking and giving up) so I don’t burn out or hurt myself, but today I just went for it: a whole 4 minutes at 5 mph!

In my head, the difference between 4 and 5 was HUGE!  In reality, not that different.  My legs felt heavy towards the end, but I could have gone longer.  Maybe I’ll try my whole next session at 5 mph…  Hopefully, this energy will carry over to bootcamp on Thursday – I know I’m gonna be sore!

Progress (and proving myself wrong) is lovely – especially with this humidity.  Could my hair be bigger?  Good grief…

July 12, 2011 - Posted by | 33 Things to do While I'm 33, boot camp, my hair, Running

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

