Cubicle to Fit-ish

How a wimp becomes fit(ish)

Making Out with Garlic Bread

So I have completely lost my good eating habits.  I did really well with WW online until March and I have been on a slow-mo fall into a pit of cheezits, diet coke, fig newtons, french fries, and all the yumminess I have been trying to not gorge on ever since.  It has been delicious, but I can see this landing me right back where I was LAST summer, and my whole healthy makeover was to become a fitter and happier me (not a yo-yo dieter making out with a loaf of bread).

I think this descent ties directly into the fact that I have not been going to the gym since I started the MMA Bootcamp.  At first, I thought bootcamp was going to be too much for me, so I rationalized stopping doing the gym so my body could adapt to the intense workouts.  However, I’ve noticed that when I am in pain from a really hard bootcamp session (like Saturday’s – um, ouch crazy medicine ball/burpee, squat push, bicycle crunch, jumping jack hot hell), exercising actually makes my muscles feel better.  I need to look more into cross-training, but I think since my classes on Thursday nights and Saturday mornings are so focused on strength training, I am going to do 2 days a week of cardio (treadmill, elliptical, or bike) to help with my endurance and keep my muscles warm.  I am hoping for Tuesdays and Sundays, which should be a good fit with my schedule right now.  Apparently bootcamp goes to 3 days a week after some promotion (YIKES), so I will have to re-evaluate my energy levels at that point.

I’m also making a meal plan for the week to try and pull myself together.  Being such a foodie, I rebel against planning out my meals, but I think getting into a better routine will allow me to make better choices.  I just need a moment away from everything to level set my appetite.  French fries and garlic bread are not a meal that will fuel me.  Soda makes me feel kind of sick.  Apple pie is not an every day lunch (well, it is for me.  That’s my problem, haha!).

I am sure my stress levels from my mom being hurt and my week long development program at work aren’t helping.  Getting back into my general swing of things (including some much needed sleep) should help me perk up, too…

June 20, 2011 - Posted by | boot camp, Diet Coke, wimpy-ness

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

